VBB Weekly – 12.28.2015

vbb weekly 2016 banner rev

I don’t know about you all, but I’ve eaten my weight and more this week!!!! At the same time, it’s been amazing to take some time off to enjoy my family. Doesn’t mean I haven’t done some reading, of course! I finished the Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima and LOVED IT!!!!

I’ve also read He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker, a gripping, twisty suspense I really loved too! Now, I’m about 30% into BlackHearts by Nicole Castroman, a YA retelling of the infamous pirate Blackbeard and I am soooo hooked. I’m also doing a re-read of Red Queen, but on Audible this time, as I prepare to jump into highly anticipated follow-up by Victoria Aveyard, Glass Sword. I have an insane amount of books to read in January, so I’m doing my best to get through them before I’m back at work… not complaining at all! 🙂 Hope you are having a great holiday, and as we count down the final days in 2015, I wish you all a happy, healthy 2016!

Happy reading! ♥

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Currently Reading:

Feb-09

Listening To:

Available Now

Up Next:

Feb-02

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Release Recap

(Click cover to order)

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Releasing This Week

Hooked by Love by Toni Aleo (Available Now) 

Hooked By LoveThings are out of control for the Sinclair boys! With two already in the NHL, Jace Sinclair is ready to follow in his brothers’ HUGE skates in the last Bellevue Bullies novel…
Jace Sinclair here, and I’m amazing. There is no other way to describe me. I am the leading scorer for the Bellevue Bullies, I’m the captain, and people love me: my family, my teammates, my coach, and the NHL. This is my last year in college–I already have one foot in the draft. Hockey keeps me warm even when it’s freezing. It’s always there when nothing else is. And it pushes me to be the best I can be. It’s my one and only love.
That is, until I see her against a tree with a guitar.
Avery.
The last thing I wanted was to meet anyone. My heart is on the bench because of what happened with my parents, and I don’t want that for myself. I don’t want to be hurt by anyone. I can’t give them that power.
But my heart is begging for ice time, and I can’t control it around her.
* * *

I’ve always been in the background. No one has ever had time for me and that’s fine; I’ve learned to cope. Coming from a family where hockey is life, the last thing I want is some big, burly hockey player charging at me. I don’t have time for it, but Jace Sinclair isn’t one to be deked around.
I didn’t want to meet anyone. I didn’t want to end up freezing the puck with him. It’s not what I want.
I have demons.
I have issues.
Living in the shadows, no one even knew until it was too late. But Jace wants to know.
He wants me.
And that scares me the living hell out of me.

We were so worried about what would happen if we fell, but we never thought what could happen in the process of falling. We never saw it coming. But it’s here, and the repercussions are not pretty. We should have known that there is no way out of the zone when you are being Hooked by Love.

Reading Order: Boarded by Love | Clipped by LoveHooked by Love

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

First Touch by Laurelin Paige (Dec 29) 

Dec-29

DESPERATE FOR THE TRUTH. OBSESSED BY DESIRE…

Emily Wayborn is finally her own woman.

After a string of shameful relationships and reckless partying with her best friend Amber, she’s now a successful voiceover actress, her wild past and everyone in it firmly behind her. Until she receives a cryptic voicemail from her former friend that sends her spiraling into the darkness she thought she had outrun. One thing is clear from the message, Amber is in trouble.

Determined to track down her friend, Emily follows a chain of clues that leads her to Reeve Sallis, a gorgeous and equally dangerous hotelier known for his power games and shady dealings. Now, in order to find Amber, Emily must return to her playgirl ways to uncover his secrets and track down her friend. But as she becomes more entangled with him, she finds she’s drawn to Reeve and his depravity despite her growing conviction that he may be the one responsible for Amber’ s disappearance.

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Endure (#3, Defy) by Sarah B. Larson (Dec 29) YA

Dec-29

The remarkable third novel in Sara B. Larson’s bestselling Defy series!

At last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to be married. But their lives are far from safe. The kingdom of Antion is under siege, and Rylan is a prisoner of the enemy. Even worse, Alexa remains at the mercy of the evil Dansiian Rafe, who controls her mind and can force Alexa to kill or harm Damian at any moment. Despite this, Alexa is determined to rescue Rylan, which soon leads her far from Damian and deep into enemy territory.

When she arrives, what awaits her is deadlier than anything she could have ever imagined: an army of black sorcerers, and a horrifying plot to destroy the world as Alexa knows it. Will she be able to gather the strength to free herself, protect the love of her life, and save the land? Will there ever be true peace?

Acclaimed author Sara B. Larson has woven a stunning, romantic, and evocative finale to the Defy trilogy, that is sure to leave readers breathless until the very last page.

Reading Order: Defy $1.99 | IgniteEndure

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass (Dec 29) – YA

What's Broken Between UsAlexis Bass’s heartbreakingly beautiful second novel is a tale of love, loss, and learning to forgive, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk and killed his best friend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.

Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again–whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

After She’s Gone by Lisa Jackson (Dec 29) 

After She's GoneIn this explosive new thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson delves into the deep bond between two sisters and their shared dream that becomes a harrowing nightmare of madness, hatred and jealousy…

Cassie Kramer and her younger sister, Allie, learned the hazards of fame long ago. Together, they’d survived the horror of a crazed fan who nearly killed their mother, former Hollywood actress Jenna Hughes. Still, Cassie moved to L.A., urging Allie to follow. As a team, they’d take the town by storm.  But Allie, finally free of small-town Oregon, and just that little bit more beautiful, also proved to be more talented—and driven. Where Cassie got bit parts, Allie rose to stardom. But now her body double has been shot on the set of her latest movie—and Allie is missing.

Police discover that the last call to Allie’s phone came from Cassie, though she has no recollection of making it. Instead of looking like a concerned relative, Cassie is starting to look like a suspect—the jealous sister who finally grew sick of playing a supporting role. As the tabloids go into a frenzy, Cassie ends up on a Portland psych ward. Is she just imagining the sinister figure who comes to her bedside, whispering about Allie—a visitor of whom there is no record? Is someone trying to help—or drive her mad?

Convinced she’s the only one who can find Allie, Cassie checks herself out of the hospital. But a sudden slew of macabre murders— each victim masked with a likeness of a member of Cassie’s family—makes Cassie fear for her safety and her sanity. The only way to end the nightmare is to find out what really happened to Allie. And with each discovery, Cassie realizes that no one can be trusted to keep her safe—least of all herself…

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Who We Were by Kelly Elliott (Dec 29)  99¢

Who We WereMy Papai always said wine made everything better. Countless times he uttered those familiar words to me— “The Merlot will melt your problems away meu amor. With a good bottle of wine in your hand, you hold the magical key to anything you want.”

I believed my father whole heartily, until my world came crashing down on me at twenty-four years old.

It wasn’t going to take wine to help Brody and I find our way back to one another. It was going to take fighting … not only for our love—

But for my life.

Standalone novel.

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Tutus & Cowboy Boots by Casey Peeler (Dec 29)

Tutus and CowboysCadence Lewis has been dancing since she could walk. Living in New York with her parents she has the chance to go to the best dance school in the country, but when her father does the unthinkable she’s forced to leave her dreams behind and move to a small southern town with her mom. Cadence is having a hard time adjusting to her new life when she meets Jade Carpenter.

Jade starts to show Cadence that small-town life isn’t so bad, but when Cadence has a chance to go back to New York she is on the next flight and will do anything to get her old life back.

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Dirty Pleasures (#2, Dirty Billionaire) by Meghan March (Dec 29)

Dirty PleasuresI did it. I married a billionaire.
My reasons are my own, but the last thing I expected was to feel owned.
I may have taken vows, but I’m still determined to be me.
Now his rules are taking over my world, but I’m not the kind of girl to just obey.
There’s only one problem: I might actually be falling for him…
I have no idea how this marriage is going to go, but holding onto a piece of myself while succumbing to his dirty pleasures is shaping up to be the ride of a lifetime.

Reading Order: Dirty TogetherDirty Pleasures

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Untouchable Darkness (#2, Dark Ones) by Rachel Van Dyken (Dec 29)

Untouchable Darkness Dark OnesTo love a Dark One is to invite death…

It is wrong to love her.
It is worse to want her.
It is sin to consume her.
I desire all three.

I’ve been given thirty days to prove my love to another immortal–as a human. Cursed to use nothing but the side of myself I’ve always despised to win her affection. I am Cassius, the King of the immortals, A Dark One.
And today I tasted fear for the first time.
How can I win her when my human emotions over take every ounce of logic I possess?
A darkness is brewing.
One I cannot stop as a human.
One that Stephanie, my loves visions, have shown, will be my end.
Thirty days ago I was King of the immortals.
Today I know fear.
Today I know how I will die.
By her hand.
The woman I love.

Can be read as a standalone.

Reading Order: The Dark Ones 99¢Untouchable Darkness

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Pre-Orders

(Click images to buy or for more info)

★ Visit THIS PAGE for the full list of releases ★

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

book sales 2016 banner rev

Current sales list for Amazon U.S. Click on image to purchase; click here to search my reviews.

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

Young Adult

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

in flight gif

New Adult and Adult

✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦ ✦

 follow vbb 2

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram | Goodreads | Subscribe by Email

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Ongoing Recommendations

2015 favorites 2015 singles book recs by category six 6 star books
Happy Reading!!! ♥

 

 

Related Reads:

Leave a Reply